Targeted Strategies for Today's Evolving Markets

MissionIR Blog

SPACEHAB Incorporated (SPAB) Announces Formation of Council on Science and Microgravity

SPACEHAB Incorporated (SPAB), a provider of commercial space services, announced the formation of a new Science Advisory Council. This Advisory Council will consist of an elite team of scientists, physicians, and microgravity specialists who provide strategic guidance and technical insight as the Company advances its identified microgravity processing initiatives.

Jim Royston, SPACEHAB’s president, stated, “SPACEHAB is facing both extraordinary opportunities and challenges as we blaze a trail in a brand new industry – private utilization of the International Space Station”.

Royston continued, “The Company recently announced that it was entering discussions with NASA regarding development and cooperation for usage of the International Space Station (ISS), a designated U.S. National Laboratory, for research, development, and industrial processing purposes. “We believe we’ve assembled a team of highly renowned professionals whose expertise will help our company accelerate the scientific innovation necessary to lead and succeed in this new and technically challenging industry.”

The charter members of this multi-discipline council include:

Dr. Jeanne L. Becker: Becker currently serves as the Vice President and Institute Associate Director of the National Space Biomedical Research Institute. She holds faculty appointments in the Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. Dr. Becker is a member, and currently Chair, of the National Advisory Committee for the Women’s Health Research Coalition Her research focuses on three-dimensional (3D) models of breast and ovarian cancer using the Rotating Wall Vessel.

Dr. Timothy Hammond: Hammond serves as a a Professor of Internal Medicine at Tulane University School of Medicine. Additional, Dr. Hammond also serves as the Associate Chief of Staff Research at the Durham VA Medical Center, and Founder and co-Director of the Tulane/VA Environmental Astrobiology Center. He is an internal medicine and nephrology physician in active academic practice. Dr. Hammond has published over 100 peer reviewed scientific articles, and is an inventor on five patents involving tissue differentiation during suspension culture in bioreactors.

Dr. Neal R. Pellis: Dr. Pellis is a leading microbiologist and Associate Director for the Human Research Program Science Management Office. Before joining NASA JSC in 1994, he served on the faculty of Northwestern University Medical School and the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, and directed the Surgical Immunology Laboratory in the Department of Surgical Oncology at the University of Texas M.D.

Dr. Louis S. Stodieck: Dr. Stodieck is a Research Professor in Aerospace Engineering Sciences and Director of the BioServe Space Technology Center at the University of Colorado, a NASA-sponsored life sciences Commercial Center Space Center.

Dr. Wagner A. Vendrame: Dr. Vendrame is an Associate Professor at the Environmental Horticulture Department, working at the Tropical Research and Education Center. Dr. Vendrame joined UF in 2001 and has more than 16 years of experience in plant micropropagation and biotechnology.

Dr. Xingwu Wang: Dr. Wang is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at Alfred University. His research interests include fuel cells and fuel processors; thin film coatings, sputtering, RF plasma, laser, atmospheric pressure chemical vapor deposition (APCVD), and e-beam; superconductors; and electrical power and instrumentation. He has published 70 papers and holds 19 U.S. patents.

Let us hear your thoughts below:

This entry was posted in Small Cap News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *